Header Ads

Seema Kumar takes charge as Member (Operations & Business Development), Railway Board

Seema Kumar takes charge as Member (Operations & Business Development), Railway Board

Dear Aspirants, EducationBro is here with a Daily Current Affairs Dose. In this session, we will make the candidates aware of the daily current affairs topics, which will improve their general awareness, while also taking care that the candidates should not have any shortage of trending current affairs related to any country and abroad. Today’s Current Affairs topic is Seema Kumar takes charge as Member (Operations & Business Development), Railway Board.

Our Daily Current Affairs Dose 2024 will help you to crack the General Awareness section of Banking Insurance SSC Railway UPSC and all government jobs exams.

Seema Kumar takes charge as Member (Operations & Business Development), Railway Board

Ms. Seema Kumar took over the charge of the post of Member (Operations & Business Development) in Railway Board on 5th January 2024.

Read Also: List of Chief Ministers of Jharkhand 2024 - Updated

Prior to this appointment, Seema Kumar was Additional Member (Tourism & Catering), Railway Board. She also held the additional charge of Additional Member (Traffic), Additional Member (Marketing & Business Development) and also Chairman & Managing Director of IRCTC at various intervals.

Read Also: Satish Kumar takes over as Member (Traction & Rolling Stock) in Railway Board

About Seema Kumar 

Seema Kumar joined Indian Railways Traffic Service (IRTS) in 1988. She is a Gold Medalist in M.Sc. (Physics) from Meerut University and an M. Tech. from IIT Delhi.

Throughout her long career, Ms. Seema has worked in diverse capacities including Principal Chief Safety Officer of Northern Railway; Divisional Railway Manager, Kota; Chief Project Manager, Northern Railway. Apart from this, she worked as General Manager (PRS) in the Centre for Railway Information System (CRIS).

Read More: Aruna Nayar takes over as Secretary, Railway Board

During her tenure as Additional Member (Tourism & Catering), two new innovative schemes viz. Bharat Gaurav Trains (BGT) and One Station One Product (OSOP) were successfully launched.

During her tenure at CRIS, she played a pivotal role in the design and development of the Unreserved Ticketing System and Next Generation e-ticketing System.

Seema has also completed the Leadership Programme from SDA Bocconi Institute, Milan, Italy and Leadership Management Executive Programme from Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore.

Awards & Honours

Ms. Seema Kumar is the recipient of various prestigious awards like Platinum Award for Web based Citizen Services in the year 2009, Silver Award for e-Governance 2010-2011 under the category ‘Innovative Use of ICT by PSUs for Customer’s Benefits’ and National Tourism Award 2014-2015 for showcasing Cultural Heritage and Local Talent.

Static Current Affairs related to Indian Railways for upcoming exams

  • Formation: 12 September 1837
  • Headquarters: New Delhi
  • Minister for Railways: Ashwini Vaishnaw
  • Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer: Jaya Varma Sinha

Post a Comment