Header Ads

PM Modi to attend 14th BRICS Summit in China on June 23-24

PM Modi to attend 14th BRICS Summit in China on June 23-24

Dear Aspirants, EducationBro is here with a Daily Current Affairs Dose. In this session, we will make the candidates aware of the daily current affairs topics, which will improve their general awareness, while also taking care that the candidates should not have any shortage of trending current affairs related to any country and abroad. Today’s Current Affairs topic is PM Modi to attend 14th BRICS Summit in China on June 23-24.

Our Daily Current Affairs Dose 2022 will help you to crack the General Awareness section of Banking Insurance SSC Railway UPSC and all government jobs exams.

PM Modi to attend 14th BRICS Summit in China on June 23-24

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be attending the 14th BRICS Summit hosted by China in virtual format on 23-24 June 2022.

Discussions during the 14th BRICS summit 2022

Major discussions during the 14th BRICS Summit 2022 are expected to include intra-BRICS cooperation in areas such as counter-terrorism, trade, health, traditional medicine, environment, science and technology and innovation, agriculture, technical and vocational education and training, and MSMEs.

Along with this, issues like reforming the multilateral system, combating the COVID-19 pandemic and global economic recovery are also likely to be discussed.

13th BRICS Summit 2021 was held in virtual format on the theme BRICS@15: Intra-BRICS cooperation for continuity, consolidation and consensus. It will be the third time that India will be hosting the BRICS Summit after 2012 and 2016.


The leaders of BRIC (Brazil, Russia, India, and China) countries met for the first time in St. Petersburg, Russia, on the margins of the G8 Outreach Summit in July 2006. Shortly afterwards, in September 2006, the group was formalised as BRIC during the 1st BRIC Foreign Ministers’ Meeting, which met on the sidelines of the General Debate of the UN Assembly in New York City.

After a series of high level meetings, the 1st BRIC summit was held in Yekaterinburg, Russia on 16 June 2009.

BRIC renamed as BRICS 

The BRIC group was renamed as BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China, South Africa) after South Africa was accepted as a full member at the BRIC Foreign Ministers’ meeting in New York in September 2010. Accordingly, South Africa attended the 3rd BRICS Summit in Sanya, China on 14 April 2011.

Important facts for upcoming exams from the above Current Affairs Topic 

  • Formation of BRICS: September 2006 (UNGA 61st session)
  • 1st BRIC summit: 16 June 2009
  • Members countries of BRICS: Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa

Post a Comment