Header Ads

Durand Cup 2021: FC Goa beat Mohammedan Sporting 1-0 to win first Durand Cup football trophy

Durand Cup 2021: FC Goa beat Mohammedan Sporting 1-0 to win first Durand Cup football trophy

Dear Aspirants, EducationBro is here with a Daily Current Affairs Dose. In this session, we will make the candidates aware of the daily current affairs topics, which will improve their general awareness, while also taking care that the candidates should not have any shortage of trending current affairs related to any country and abroad. Today’s Current Affairs topic is Durand Cup 2021: FC Goa beat Mohammedan Sporting 1-0 to win first Durand Cup football trophy.

Our Daily Current Affairs Dose 2021 will help you to crack the General Awareness section of Banking Insurance SSC Railway UPSC and all government jobs exams.

Durand Cup 2021: FC Goa beat Mohammedan Sporting 1-0 to win first Durand Cup football trophy

Durand Cup 2021 Final: FC Goa won their maiden Durand Cup football title by defeating Mohammedan Sporting 1–0 in the final match played in Kolkata. 

Read Also: Women's National Boxing Championships to be held in Hisar from 21-27 Oct | Daily Current Affairs Dose

Captain Eduardo Bedia scored the all important goal in the 105th minute after the final match went into the extra time. FC Goa got 40 lakh rupees for winning the title, while Mohammedan Sporting received 20 lakh rupees.(inp:newsOnair)

The 130th edition of Durand Cup 2021 was held in Kolkata from 5 September to 3 October 2021. The world's third oldest and Asia's oldest football tournament, the Durand Cup, was held in 2021 this year after a gap of one year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

About Durand Cup

The prestigious tournament was first held in 1888, at Dagshai (Himachal Pradesh) and is named after Mortimer Durand, who was then the Foreign Secretary in charge of India. The tournament was a conscious way to initially maintain health and fitness amongst the British troops but was later opened to civilians and currently is one of the leading sports events in the world. Mohun Bagan and East Bengal are the most successful teams in the history of the Durand Cup winning it sixteen times each.

A brief History of Durand Cup Trophy

The winning team is presented with three trophies ie the President's Cup (first presented by Dr Rajendra Prasad), the Durand Cup (the original challenge prize - a rolling trophy) and the Shimla Trophy (first presented by citizens of Shimla in 1903 and since 1965, a rolling trophy).

The Tournament was shifted from Delhi to Kolkata in 2019, which was won by Gokulam Kerala by beating Mohun Bagan 2-1 in the finals.

Which city is hosting the Durand Cup 2021?

The West Bengal capital will again host the four week long tournament, scheduled between 05 September to 03 October 2021, with matches being played at various venues in and around Kolkata.

How many teams are participating in the Durand Cup 2021?

Sixteen participating teams from across the country, including four teams from the Services, are set to bring out the competitive and true sportsman spirit to win the coveted trophies.

Durand Cup 2021 Winner | Current Champions of Durand Cup

FC Goa won their maiden title by defeating Mohammedan Sporting 1-0 in the 2021 Durand Cup final held on 3rd October 2021.

Who won the first Durand Cup?

In 1888 first-ever Durand Cup final was played between Royal Scots Fusiliersand Highland Light Infantry. The Royal Scots Fusiliers became the first team to win the Durand Cup with a 2–1.

Important facts for upcoming exams from the above Current Affairs Topic

  • Durand Cup Formation: 1888
  • Number of teams Durand Cup: 16
  • Current Champions of Durand Cup: FC Goa
  • Most Successful Team(s) in Durand Cup: East Bengal (16 titles) and Mohun Bagan (16 titles)

Note: Below are the details of all seven Tokyo Olympics 2020 medalists from India. Please do read it.

Post a Comment